Knowledge Base allows you to view, create, and manage the skills that Dynatrace Intelligence uses to analyze the data in your environment.
Dynatrace apps already ship skills that guide Dynatrace Assist through common analysis tasks. These skills are generic, so they can't cover knowledge that's specific to your organization, such as custom error codes, business terminology, or how to interpret your domain data. With
Knowledge Base, you can add your own skills to teach Dynatrace Assist how to understand this data.
The following table describes the required permissions.
To view and manage skills in
Knowledge Base, you need permissions to read, write, and delete documents:
document:documents:readdocument:documents:writedocument:documents:delete
Knowledge Base lists all the skills available in your environment in a table, complete with additional information such as:
Skills come from two sources:
AI Observability, or with extensions. You can view and download ready-made skills, but you can't edit, disable, or delete them.Any custom skill is automatically visible to everyone in the environment upon creation.
You can quickly filter the table:
You can also:
You can open the skill page and view skill details by selecting a skill name in the Name column. The skill page is divided into general information on the left and the skill instructions on the right.
General information on the left shows:
SKILL.md, with its size and dates (Skill).SKILL.md mentions it. You can download references one by one or save all of them as a .zip file. For your own skills, you can also rename or delete existing references and add new ones.
The right side shows the content of SKILL.md.
You can use the skill page to Edit, Enable or Disable, Download, or Delete the skills you own. For ready-made and custom skills created by others, you can only download a skill. You can access additional options by selecting .
You can create a skill from a template or upload an existing one.
To create a new skill using a template
Knowledge Base, select New skill.name: your-skill-name with a unique name for your skill (for example, name: analyze-cpu-load). You can use only lowercase letters, numbers, and hyphens.
If you try to use an already existing name, you'll receive the error message: A skill named "<your-skill-name>" already exists. Choose a different name in the SKILL.md frontmatter and try again.
You can't change the skill name after the skill is created.
description: >, write one to three sentences about what this skill does and how it can help.After saving a skill, you can add reference files with additional context, such as lookup tables or detailed explanations. You can do so by uploading a reference or writing one from scratch.
To upload a reference, select Add reference > Upload and add an existing .md reference file with a unique name.
To write a new reference
Knowledge Base, select Upload.
You automatically become the owner of the skill you upload. This way, you can customize a ready-made skill or adjust a custom skill created by someone else. Before uploading, change name: in the SKILL.md frontmatter to a new, unique name. Keep in mind that you can't change the skill name after the skill is created.
SKILL.md file, or a .zip file that contains SKILL.md and up to 10 references. Ensure that the name of the uploaded skill is unique, otherwise you'll receive the error message: A skill named "<your-skill-name>" already exists. Choose a different name in the SKILL.md frontmatter and try again.After you upload the skill, you're automatically redirected to the skill page. From there, you can further edit the skill or enrich it with references. To add a reference, you can upload an existing reference or write one from scratch.
To upload a reference, select Add reference > Upload and add an existing .md reference file with a unique name.
To write a new reference
You can only make changes to the skills you own. To edit a skill
Newly created skills are enabled by default. If you want to disable a skill, you can:
Knowledge Base page and turn off the switch in the Enabled column next to your skill.When you disable a skill, Dynatrace Assist can no longer use it, and other users in your environment can't see it. The skill stays in your environment, so you can enable it again at any time, unless another enabled skill uses the same name in the meantime.
When you send a prompt, agentic Dynatrace Assist checks the descriptions of all enabled skills. If a skill description matches your request, Dynatrace Assist reads the skill and its reference files and follows the instructions in its response.
For more information about the sources Dynatrace Assist uses, see Sources used for response generation.
Custom skills created in
Knowledge Base are currently only available in Dynatrace Assist. They aren't recognized by or visible to agentic actions in Workflows, so they can't affect new or existing automations. Ready-made skills shipped out-of-the-box with Dynatrace apps and extensions work in
Workflows as usual.
You can use
Knowledge Base to:
Knowledge Base