To add a node to your Managed Cluster, follow the steps below.
After removing a Cluster node, wait 72 hours before installing a new node on a host with the same IP address (for example, when reinstalling on the same host).
Sign in to the Cluster Management Console.
Go to Deployment Status and select Install cluster node.
Copy the wget command line from the Run this command on the target host text field and paste it into your terminal window. Wait for the download to complete.
Run one of the following commands from the directory where you downloaded the installation script. Root access is required.
Replace <version> with your Dynatrace Managed version.
Ubuntu Server
sudo /bin/sh dynatrace-managed-<version>.sh
Red Hat Enterprise Linux
su -c '/bin/sh dynatrace-managed-<version>.sh'
Other Linux distributions with root session
/bin/sh dynatrace-managed-<version>.sh
Enter Accept to agree to the Dynatrace Managed Terms of use. Installation will not continue until you complete this step. To quit installation, press Ctrl+C.
Accept the prompts for values such as installation path and user account by pressing Enter. To override a value, enter your choice and press Enter.
The new node appears in the Cluster Management Console with the status joining.
Run the following command to monitor Cluster node synchronization progress. Full data synchronization can take a couple of hours.
[root@host]# /opt/dynatrace-managed/utils/cassandra-nodetool.sh status
Example response:
Datacenter: datacenter-1=====================Status=Up/Down|/ State=Normal/Leaving/Joining/Moving-- Address Load Tokens Owns (effective) Host ID RackUN 1.6.1.6 349.88 GiB 256 100.0% aaaaaaaa-bbbb-cccc-dddd-eeeeeeeeeeee rack1UN 1.6.2.2 358.2 GiB 256 100.0% zzzzzzzz-xxxx-cccc-vvvv-ffffffffffff rack1UJ 1.6.3.9 278.75 GiB 256 ? qqqqqqqq-wwww-eeee-rrrr-rrrrrrrrrrrr rack1
Where UJ marks the node as joining.
When synchronization completes, the new node shows UN (Up, Normal), like the other nodes.
You can't add more Cluster nodes until synchronization completes.
A value of 100.0% in the Owns (effective) column is only visible for Managed Clusters that have up to three nodes.
If there are more than three nodes, the percentage is calculated as follows:
(3/number_of_nodes)*100%
While a node joins, the Owns (effective) column shows a question mark (?). Once you scale out from two to three nodes, the value changes to 100.0%. For additional nodes, the value is calculated with the previous formula.
In a multi-rack setup, the formula for the Owns (effective) column changes to (100 / number_of_nodes)%. The first node in a rack shows 100.0%. When you add a second node, it shows 50.0%, and a third node shows 33.3%.
It's possible to see unequal values in the Owns (effective) column, such as 75.1% instead of 75.0%. This is normal, as data can't be divided into equal-sized parts between the nodes. As a result, the value for Load can slightly differ between the nodes.
Cassandra doesn't automatically balance the data on disk in the entire cluster after a node is added. The value for Owns (effective) falls as more nodes are added to a cluster. This is expected and shows that the data responsibility per node is reduced.
Data on disk (Load) isn't automatically reduced on the Cluster nodes. To remove the data that a node is no longer responsible for, run the cleanup.
Run the cleanup command on each Cluster node after you add all the nodes you plan to add. Cleanup is a node-local operation, so it removes only the data that the node it runs on is no longer responsible for.
sudo /opt/dynatrace-managed/utils/cassandra-nodetool.sh cleanup
Yes, you can add a node using the same procedure as for installing a Managed Cluster. The difference is that the installer asks whether to add the node to an existing Managed Cluster (you must enter the IP address of an existing Managed Cluster node) or create a new Managed Cluster. Alternatively, use the --seed-auth parameter to skip this prompt and automatically add the node to the existing Managed Cluster.
Yes, you can use pbrun, but you must grant the Dynatrace user permission to run /opt/dtrun/dtrun *. Specify the user who installs Dynatrace Managed and the command that replaces sudo. <version> is the Dynatrace Managed version number.
/bin/sh dynatrace-managed-<version>.sh --system-user dynatrace:dynatrace --sudo-cmd "/usr/bin/pbrun \$CMD"
For maintenance purposes, add the following script paths to your privilege management configuration:
/opt/dynatrace-managed/uninstall-dynatrace.sh/opt/dynatrace-managed/launcher/*/opt/dynatrace-managed/utils/*Run this command to stop all Dynatrace Managed processes on a node:
pbrun /opt/dynatrace-managed/launcher/dynatrace.sh stop
Don't remove or overwrite dtrun, as it's required by installation and update procedures. The installer calls dtrun without arguments to validate that the user has administrative privileges; during normal operation, Dynatrace calls dtrun with arguments to run commands.