Try it free

Delete an environment share

  • Latest Dynatrace
  • Reference
  • Published Oct 13, 2026

Delete an environment share in Dynatrace with the Document API, revoking access for users who claimed it without deleting the document itself.

DELETESaaShttps://{your-environment-id}.apps.dynatrace.com/platform/document/v1/environment-shares/{id}

Overview

Delete the share. This will not delete the share's document.

The share must be accessible to you. Shares accessible to you include those of your own documents, as well as those of reshareable documents owned by other users to which you have write access.

This operation effectively revokes the access which has been granted to all users which have claimed this share. This is the only way to revoke access to your document from other users. It's impossible to revoke access of individual users.

Be aware that deleting a share doesn't necessarily prevent a user from accessing a document, as the user might still have access via another share (of the same document). E.g., if a user has read- and readwrite-access (via one read-share and another readwrite-share), and the read-share gets deleted, access is still granted to the user via the readwrite-share.

Authentication

To execute this request, you need a platform token or OAuth access token with document:environment-shares:delete scope. To learn how to obtain and use it, see Tokens and authentication.

Parameters

ParameterTypeDescriptionInRequired
idstring

Environment-share id.

pathRequired
admin-accessboolean

Indicates whether the operation should be performed with elevated permissions - additionally requires document:documents:admin.

If provided, the user effectively operates as owner of all documents. This isn't supported for ready-made documents.

queryOptional

Response

Response codes

CodeDescription
204

The share has been deleted.

401-
403-
404-
500-
503-
default-
Related tags
Platform APIDynatrace Platform