Try it free

Delete a workflow

  • Latest Dynatrace
  • Reference
  • Published Oct 13, 2026

Move a workflow to trash or permanently delete it in Dynatrace with the AutomationEngine API by providing the workflow ID and trash option.

DELETESaaShttps://{your-environment-id}.apps.dynatrace.com/platform/automation/v1/workflows/{id}

Overview

You provide the workflow ID in the path and can set the trash query parameter to move the workflow to trash instead of deleting it. Dynatrace returns no response body when the AutomationEngine API deletes the workflow.

Authentication

To execute this request, you need a platform token or OAuth access token with automation:workflows:write scope. To learn how to obtain and use it, see Tokens and authentication.

Parameters

ParameterTypeDescriptionInRequired
adminAccessboolean

Allow access to all workflows/executions - additionally requires automation:workflows:admin

queryOptional
idstring

A UUID string identifying this workflow.

pathRequired
trashboolean

When true, moves the workflow to trash instead of permanently deleting it. Trashed workflows are hidden from all list and detail endpoints.

queryOptional

Response

Response codes

CodeTypeDescription
204-

No response body

4XXErrorEnvelope-

Response body objects

The ErrorEnvelope object

ElementTypeDescription
errorError-

The Error object

ElementTypeDescription
messagestring-
codeinteger-
detailsErrorDetails-

The ErrorDetails object

ElementTypeDescription
errorCodestring-
errorRefstring-

Response body JSON models

{
"error": {
"message": "string",
"code": 1,
"details": {
"errorCode": "string",
"errorRef": "string"
}
}
}
Related tags
Platform APIDynatrace Platform